The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker Book Review

The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker had caught my eye for quite awhile now and I finally picked it up on our weekend getaway:) I have never been huge into dystopian fiction. In fact, I’m pretty sure all of the dystopian fiction books I have read has been because my best friend recommended them. Honestly, I did not have high expectations for this book at all. I have never been a huge Ted Dekker fan, and when I seen this was written by his daughter, I just figured it was published because he pulled a few strings… I am ashamed of that assumption because this book and Rachelle deserve a lot of credit. 🙂

The Choosing is set in future America at Washing D.C. The system of the Authority reminds me of a mixture between The Selection series by Kiera Cass and the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. Basically everyone lives by strict rules and is ranked by class. At age 17 young women are lined up and chosen by the young men. Every girl spends her whole life learning about and training for “the choosing”. If you aren’t picked, you go to the Stacks and work as a Lint. Because the main character, Carrington, wasn’t chosen (against all odds), she was deemed unworthy to have a husband. And so, as a Lint, her submission is now to the city. The plot includes a string of murdered Lints, a mysterious City Watch guard named Remko, a religious nut-case fiance, and a rebel named Aaron who speaks of a Father who has already chosen you and is waiting you for to choose him.

SAM_1226.JPGRachelle’s writing style is somewhat similar to that of her father’s. I like how we are let into the mind of the villain (like Ted does in his books) but I also like that this wasn’t too wrapped up in the villain’s mind and reasoning. But more focused on the Truth and how I can read the message of Salvation in between the lines.

I really didn’t think I was going to be that interested in the story line because it seemed similar to a lot of popular series right now, but I really really reaalllyy loved this book. I love how Dekker put the struggles young women face today (like finding true love, being pretty, popular and excepted) into a fiction book. And not only just a fiction book, but a fantastic one at that:) If you enjoy dystopian novels (and even if you don’t) I highly recommend this book. It deserves a read from you because as Dekker’s debut novel, I know there will be more great books from her to come. In fact there is a second book in the Seer Series by her called The Calling. I haven’t read it yet but it is written from Remko’s perspective. I absolutely CANNOT wait to get my hands on this book:)

I hope you enjoyed this book review! If you have any questions or comments let me know down below!

xoxo, Bryonna

 

Leave a Reply

