Weak Minded Christians

I feel that since I am a Christian,  I get looked upon as being ignorant,  or weak minded. For example, I had a girl tell me one time that she has been all over the country and has seen more things and experienced more than I have. Therefore my belief in God was childish dreams. She knew God wasn’t real because of what she has experienced. A lot of people think christians are weak minded because we use God as a “crutch” to get through life. For example, death is a lot easier to bear if we believe we will see that loved one again.. Which it is, but it’s also harder to go through when you don’t know if that person went to heaven or hell.

A big thing in our culture is education. I’m 20 years old and work at Walgreens. I can’t begin to tell you how many strangers have tried talking me into going to college. I have nothing against college! I love that anyone can go and better their education and do great things with their life somtimes I wish God would have choose that path for me.
And I’m not against experience. I would love to go to different countries around the world and be a part of different cultures.

But what is all the knowledge and experience in the world worth if you don’t know Christ?

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.” -Proverbs 1:7

You don’t truly know anything until you know the Lord! I have an uncle who has traveled the world. He has been to soo many countries and seen so many breathtaking things, but he doesn’t know God. His knowledge doesn’t add up to anything. His experience doesn’t mean anything.

Proverbs 15:14
“The discerning heart seeks knowledge: but the mouth of a fool feeds on folly.”

Whenever I am talking to a nonbeliever about God or prayer or etc… I always get this look from them like they just feel bad for me. They think I’m naive because I believe in a God who cares about me and I actually think He listens?! To the world’s eyes, its easy to believe in a god that doesn’t exsist just so I have some kind of hope in which I can handle the difficult things in life.

But honestly, being a Christian isn’t just a walk in the park. The Bible even compares the christian walk to warfare.

“Thou therefore endure hardness as a good soldier of Jesus Christ.” 2 Timothy 2:3

There are numerous verses that cautions us about the dangers in life, and teaches us about the spiritual battle we fight every day.
No, I haven’t experienced different cultures or lifestyles. I don’t have a degree of any kind. I’m just a cashier and photo tech at Walgreens! But because I know Jesus as my savior, I have more knowledge and understanding than the smartest nonbeliever on Earth. 

2 Peter 1:3 “According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue.”

I don’t use God as a crutch to bear the burdens of life. If anything,  being a Christian has added difficulty to my life. I battle my flesh every single day. I’m constantly at war with my fleshly desires!

No, I have never been through a traumatic experience or anything like that. But I do know people who have been, and those experiences has strengthened their faith in God.

I don’t have all the answers… but the Bible does. I do know that being a Christian isn’t being “weak minded”. It’s about weakening our fleshly desires and striving for our purpose in life, worshipping God. It’s easy to say God doesn’t exist, or that He doesn’t care about us. It’s difficult to go against our flesh and know there is someone greater than us who knows the bigger picture.

I’ll admit I get intimidated meeting people who study in college (like physcology or science,  etc..) or who have seens things I can only read about in books.. it is easy to feel almost awestruck by someone like that. But, if that person isn’t saved, they know nothing of worth. And its mine and your responsibility to share the knowledge of salvation we have with that person. If you went to see the Taj Mahal or the Amazon Rain Forest, would you keep it all to yourself and not tell anyone of your adventures? 

image

Of course not! You would want to share your experience with those around you and show them the beauty of it! And it should be the same way with our knowledge in Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

