My Struggle With Being A Hypocrite

When God put it on my heart to start this blog. I doubted Him. Why would He ask me to write about living for Him and being set apart?  It feels so hypocritical sometimes as I post a devotional. When I write about being godly and how its okay to live a Christian lifestyle, I’m reminded how I used to watch wordly tv shows and laugh at things I shouldn’t around my friends. I think about how some of my family members might read my post and think I’m a hypocrite for the words I type. A lot of times Satan will creep inside and remind me of my sin and just how insufficient I am. It can be really depressing! I’m sure if you’re saved that you have felt the same.

Recently I have been studying the book of Hosea. Hosea was a prophet of God in the Old Testament. God told him to go and marry a prostitute named Gomer (That poor girl… what a terrible name!).

God told Hosea to do that to show Israel that they didn’t deserve God’s love. They couldn’t do anything so dirty that He wouldn’t love them. Because He chose to love them. Hosea chose to love Gomer, not because she deserved it. But because he chose to! I can imagine that Gomer felt very hypocritical at times,  especially if she changed from her old way of life. Why would Hosea choose her after everything she had done? Wouldn’t others see her as a hypocrite? I’m sure some did, there’s always going to be those to see only the bad. But Hosea didn’t.

Thankfully,  because of the blood of Christ, God looks at me and see’s the good, the potential. And it’s the same with you.

Even though there will be times that me and you will fail, and slip back into sin; Remember that God sees our hearts, our intentions and our struggles. But the world sees our works, our words, and our actions.

Romans 6:6 “Knowing this,  that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed,  that henceforth we should not serve sin.”

Romans 6:12-13 “Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, that ye should obey it in the lusts thereof. Neither yield ye your members as instruments of unrighteousness unto sin: but yield yourselves unto God, as those that are alive, from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness unto God.”

Sometimes I do feel hypocritical. Just know that I write for myself to be encouraged and edified, just as much as I do for others. I’m thankful I’m able to see the things I can work on, not only so I can become a better witness, but also because it shows me that even though I mess up, God still chooses to love me.

2 thoughts on “My Struggle With Being A Hypocrite

Leave a Reply

