No. I Don’t Wear Panty Hose.

Scared is an understatement.
This Sunday will be my first day at a new church, in a new town, and my first day on the job as pastor’s wife… Well, associates pastors wife but after a month or two pastors wife.

Anyways.
I can handle new people. I have met more new people in the past year than I have my entire life. New towns I can handle too. I live in a town that is literally the width of the gas station and post office. But being a pastor’s wife….. that is something new.
I have only really known 2 pastors wives throughout my life. One was my teacher in highschool, and the other I never talked to. So it is safe to say I have absolutely no idea what people expect out of a pastors wife. And trust me when I say I have done my research! I have read countless blogs and yahoo answers on it. But that doesn’t make up for the lack of experience I have.
And yes I know that pastor’s wives are supposed to be the “supreme being of godliness“, always cooking casseroles and remembering names and sitting on the front row taking notes. But honestly… I hate casseroles. I’m awful with names. And when I sit on the front row I literally pay no attention to the message (I’m paranoid about people sitting right behind me:P).
So in that aspect, I have already “failed” at becoming a pastor’s wife. (Did I mention I never wear panty-hose? I think there is this prejudice about pastor’s wives wearing panty hose.. maybe that is just me though haha) I don’t have much guidance, experience, or know how.

The night we first met the pastor of this new church, his wife looked at me and said the church isn’t expecting anything out of me, except to love my husband and support him.
Now that I can do.
I won’t try to act like I have it all together and put on a front. But I will try to love as Christ loved. To minister to the hurting like He did. To feed the hungry and to love the unlovable.
Because I don’t want others to look at me and see an ordinary little ole pastors wife. But as a christian. Living a christian life is something every saved person is supposed to do, not just the Pastor’s wife.
So this upcoming week I will try to stop setting standards for myself, and just be myself. I will try to stop thinking about how other’s will see me and start seeing other’s how Christ sees them. I’ll quit questioning why God chose me for this role and start seeing ways in which this role as pastor’s wife was made for me.

2 thoughts on “No. I Don’t Wear Panty Hose.

Leave a Reply

