10 Ways To Look Less Tired

It doesn’t matter if I get 8 hours of sleep or 5 hours, I always look tired. I have had dark circles under my eyes even when I was little. So with that being said, I have learned a thing or two about how to look awake, fresh, and rejuvenated:) 

1- Avoid dark colors 

Especially if you already have dark hair and eyes (like me), wearing a black shirt or even a dark lipstick can draw more attention to dark circles under your eyes. Even black eyeliner can drag you down. Try to opt out for an eyeliner that compliments your eye color. (I use copper or purple since I have brown eyes)

2-Wear your hair in a half up-do. 

With all of my hair up, I look tired. With all of my hair down, I look tired. But wearing a half up-do opens up and frames the face. Plus its in style now!

3- Use a color correcting concealer. 

Color correcting is definitely not something I was on board with. Except for peach toned concealers. I got mine from NYX for only 5$ and it really does make such a difference! I either just use the NYX concealer or layer it under my Nars Radiant Creamy concealer.

4- Wear earrings.

What better way to distract others from your dark circles than a pair of sparkly studs?! 😉 But really though, whenever I wear earrings it draws attention away from the center of my face and balances it out. I prefer 💎 studs or something sparkly.

5-Avoid matte finish makeup.

This may be debatable, but in my personal experience whenever I use matte foundation/concealer/lipstick, I tend to look more tired and flat. I prefer more dewy, glowy skin. Or even like a satin finish foundation because I feel like it looks more natural and healthy. (I’m not saying that everyone who uses matte finish foundation looks tired btw)

6- Wash your face with cold water. 

When you feel awake, you tend to look more awake and what else wakes you up like a splash of cold water? Personally I love washing my face with cold water in the mornings, though it did take some getting used to!

7- Use light/beige colored eyeshadows.

Whenever I’m in a rush I take a light pinky beige eyeshadow and apply it all over my lid and up to the browbone. This brightens up the whole eye area,makes your eyelashes stand out a bit more, and makes your eyes look bigger.

8- Use an eyecream.

I am a skincare junkie. I love finding new products that help better my skin. This eyecream by Clinique is fairly new and I got it with some of my Sephora points. A hydrated under eye area not only looks healthy and youthful, but also helps prep the skin for makeup. 

9-Keep it simple. 

Less is more. Whenever I wear a ton of eyeshadow and liner and blush and bronzer and highlighter etc etc….. Throughout the day it can make me look tired. Some nights I wash off my makeup only to find that I looked more tired with it on than I did without. So if you didn’t sleep a lot or have been traveling, or stressed lately try to keep your makeup simplistic.

10-COFFEE☕☕☕

I don’t really think this one deserves an explanation because isn’t coffee the answer to everything?😜

I hope some of these helped you and if you know of anymore let me know! Don’t stress away your joy over vanity (like i tend to do sometimes). Remember that God made you beautiful and for a purpose (dark circles and all)!!

6 thoughts on “10 Ways To Look Less Tired

Leave a Reply

