If Satan Stops Eating

Last week me and my family were sitting around the kitchen talking about pets. Someone started to tell a story that literally gave me chill bumps.

Apparently, a girl who had a pet boa constrictor took him to the vet because he had stopped eating a couple weeks ago. So she was worried about him.

The vet asked her if recently it had started stretching out next to her when she was laying down. And she said yes, that whenever she would lay down in bed, he would stretch his body out besides hers.

The vet then told her that nothing was wrong with her pet snake. In fact, the reason he had stopped eating a couple weeks ago, is because he is making room for when he plans on eating her. And that whenever he stretches out beside her on the bed, he is measuring her to determine how much room he will need to eat her.

Creepy right? 

Little do we realize that as Christians, we get just as close and naive towards our sin and Satan, who is someone much more deadlier than a boa constrictor.

A couple months ago I wrote a blog post about how sin can slither into your life seemingly right under your nose.Just like how that girl got comfortable around her deadly pet, I start to get comfortable around my sin. I start to let it get closer and closer, until suddenly its right up next to me and I am perfectly fine with it. 

Sin so easily slithers up next to us because by nature we are sinful beings. We are born comfortable around it.
Whenever I wrote my blog post about sin slithering in, I figured that I was through with that battle. I got past it, God delivered me from it, and I grew from it. But how easily it crept back into my life, stretching itself out right next to me. And I didn’t even bat an eye. 

Matthew 26:41 “Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

So, if you’re like me, pray that God will open your eyes to see when Satan stops eating. To see when he tries to stretch himself out beside you and devour you. Pray that you stay on guard, watchful. Because there are times when I wake up and see how close I let him get to me, and wonder how in the world I didn’t realize the danger I was in. 

2 thoughts on “If Satan Stops Eating

  1. Phenomenal insight! I wrote today on how it’s ok to not be perfect because we never will be, and our goal in life should be to try to live a holy life. We need to strive to avoid sin, and continually grow to look more like Jesus. And as we do that we become more aware of sin and the depth of it. It’s amazing how easy it is to find yourself trapped in sins you thought you’ve overcome. It’s like as soon as we think we’ve beaten it, it comes back stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

